1.7

Rating:        Based on 29 ratings
Reviewed:  25 reviews
Downloads: 100575
Change Set: 54cf723fb184
Released: May 29, 2014
Updated: May 29, 2014 by ericpopivker
Dev status: Stable Help Icon

Recommended Download

Application fnr.exe
application, 181K, uploaded May 29, 2014 - 100575 downloads

Release Notes

Bug fixes
  • Refactored logic for encoding text values to command line to handle common edge cases where find/replace operation works in GUI but not in command line

Reviews for this release

     
Saved me so much time! Thanks a lot!!!!!!
by semsuddin on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:42 AM
     
In short words: Working as fast and efficient as lightning bolts that strike 100 times in one spot! Real magic! I have comprehensive collections of photos, inside of complex structures of folders, from which I generate html+js web albums, using jAlbum, but sometimes, after each of my album generation, I need to replace certain strings inside those multitude of .htm* files. This tool, allowed me to create .cmd windows script, and now I only need to launch the script and release new version of album, already correct! Super Cool Work!
by mr_benedict on Sep 3, 2016 at 5:07 PM
     
This isn't actually a review, but a response to a 2-star review saying "I was not able to use the GUI version on Windows 10". If you're using Win10, don't be deterred. Whatever the reviewer's problem was, it wasn't a simple compatibility problem; I've just tested fnr GUI and it works perfectly under Win10/64, as does the command-line version. Not a thorough, full test of all features, but I have no reason to expect problems. I've contributed some comments to the discussion in the past, fnr is indispensable to me. This shouldn't be discussed in the review section, any comments to this should go in the discussion.
by pol098 on Aug 27, 2016 at 10:41 AM
     
Sorry, I was not able to use the GUI version it on Windows 10. Got always some untreated exceptions. Didn't try command line versioin.
by dlen on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:34 PM
     
Thanks a lot! It would be nice to have the main window of your UI re-sizable so more Results will be visible without scrolling. Thanks again!
by vladip on Apr 17, 2016 at 10:26 AM
     
Very usefull, thanks
by BobZeHareng on Feb 22, 2016 at 2:31 PM
     
Easy to use/understand UI/UX, took less than 3mins to update a ton of old static html files. Saved me hours of work. GREAT app! THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by tedkrapf on Dec 8, 2015 at 2:05 PM
     
works as expected
by dcompost on Dec 2, 2015 at 6:44 AM
     
Works really well. Happy to add it to my toolchain.
by gazillabyte on Nov 7, 2015 at 4:13 PM
     
I had an issue using the --cl option. If the replace string is "--blahblah" it will not work.
by shaun1127 on Oct 23, 2015 at 9:44 PM
     
Super duper great tool. It saved me countless painful hours. As someone who only has to use tools like regex occasionally, it was super nice to have so many features for non-expert users, including visualizing changes without making them. Love that you can build a command in the graphical interface and have it spit out a command line version. A+++ will find and replace again.
by psessoms on Aug 25, 2015 at 6:16 PM
     
For such a simple tool, I was impressed with its features. Ability to generate a command line, clickable list of matches found, highlights etc. I will keep this one handy in my toolbelt, ready to whip it out to save the day.
by bkowald on Jul 20, 2015 at 7:05 PM
     
Great tool! The UI could still be reworked a little bit. On a 2560x1440px screen fnr covers only a small portion of the available space but nevertheless I have to scroll horizontally to analyse the search results.
by sdjfd4ss on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:32 AM
     
Escapes were all handled without any re-writing on my part! I used it to create a Post-Build script for a Visual Studio project; and it is replacing c# code in a source file post-build. It worked perfectly the first time! Nice code!
by steevcoco on Jun 3, 2015 at 5:40 PM
     
Fantastic ! Easy, clean, intuitive. Software as it should be.
by Betsy25 on Apr 2, 2015 at 8:45 PM
     
I needed to find a long text string in several .txt files, and replace with other text. Surfed google, found this...downloaded.. and ran it. Worked like a charm first time. Mission accomplished.
by rgouette on Dec 29, 2014 at 3:33 PM
     
i think this great tool, i have word a,b,c, in find how to insert? 1 word great work, but more than not work
by rgoesty on Dec 10, 2014 at 3:53 PM
     
The best find and replace tool
by alonsob on Nov 4, 2014 at 9:10 PM
     
This one little tool just saved me about an hour's worth of copying and pasting drudgery. It worked well and was extremely fast and efficient.
by shoalcreek5 on Nov 1, 2014 at 5:50 PM
     
Great. Saved me a lot of time.
by Jakobus on Oct 31, 2014 at 1:57 PM
     
Simple and elegant. It blew me away with it's power and ease of use.
by sminter on Sep 5, 2014 at 2:11 PM
     
Excellent tool! I just love the fact that it can be used in batch files/cmd &/or with the GUI. Stable, powerful... Great job!
by LeLoupBLeu on Aug 5, 2014 at 4:04 PM
     
Wow. Thank you. You saved me huge effort!!
by amitk on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:03 PM
     
This utility does everything that it should. I completely agree with the author's points about the droves of other grep utilities out there that offer clunky command-line interfaces, at best. The vast majority of grep tools for windows do not offer command-line options, and if they do, they are impossible to figure out due to poor documentation. I love the command-line generator that this program offers. Please keep up the good work.
by mjfoxtrot on Jun 4, 2014 at 11:35 PM
     
Hi Guys! is there any command in fnr.exe so that it should find certain string and replace entire line?? i am not getting this please help me! i am in need of that command
by TilakrajMoger on Jan 20, 2016 at 1:20 PM